C&C 27 Association Forum

This Forum is supported by C&C 27 owners like you whose membership in the C&C 27 Association makes possible this Forum and the accompanying site. Thank you, members, for your continuing commitment.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

if you need to reset your password, you will have to confirm the request clicking the URL in the email that you will receive (Just in case check the spam folder)
If you have any problem, please do not hesitate to contact me

#1 2015-07-17 11:19:24

mikeware

marvel mystery oil

Should I be using the Marvel Mystery Oil in gas and oil as seems to be advised by Moyer Marine? Should there be any additives?  What about synthetic oil?
If there are fans of Marvel, does anyone know where you can get it in Canada?
Mike Ware
C&C 27 Mark 1 1971 Parsifal
Bronte Harbour Marina

Mike Ware
Bronte Harbour Marina

#2 2015-07-18 00:22:03

Brian Tivnan

Re: marvel mystery oil

Mike,
I am not an experienced mechanic, so I have the Moyer Marine Manual for the Atomic 4 and I blindly follow it

For additional details not covered in the manual, I heed the advice of the experts on the Moyer forum.  There you will find a wealth of info on Marvel Mystery Oil and engine oil.

I adhere to the prevailing wisdom by using Shell Rotella 15W40 Diesel Oil.  Yes, diesel.  Check out the Moyer forum to get the complete lowdown on the Rotella  - more details than I can relay to you but has to do with the changing properties of engine oil over the past 40+ years.

For MMO, yes I use it.  Don Moyer recommends use something, so I use it. Don says we should use MMO at winter layup, has worked great for me.  I don't know the specifics of where to find MMO in Canada but I don't recall this being an issue for others on the Moyer forum. 

As for additives, the Moyer community is largely down on fuel additives, with MMO being the lone exception if you have persistent engine issues like sticky valves.